Dreams 03.25.12

Dream 1:
This dream happened maybe around 4am either before or after. I know I slept quite a bit before waking up shortly in the nite.

I don’t recall all of it but a friend’s sister passed away. One of the sweetest, nicest and most genuine people I know. Even though I didn’t know her well, they were giving me the honor of being part of the funeral rites. It involved saying a few words and being part of the ceremony.

BigE and my Ex who are both flip, were trying to explain how I had to walk directly up to the open coffin, pick up this ceremonial stick, twisted and tied together crudely out of a few twigs, hold it between chin and neck, then lightly tap the deceased’s forehead, stomach and feet. They explained that this ritual was very serious and a big part of sending the deceased peacefully into the afterlife.

I remember being very nervous in the dream because I wasn’t sure if I would smack her in the face by accident or do something else wholly inappropriate.

Dream 2:
Interestingly, this second dream happened before my morning alarm woke me. So I had about 15 minutes or so where I drifted back while trying to remember my first dream. I think the bits I did remember allowed me to incorporate some of it into the second dream.

I was waiting in line outside a school auditorium, a pretty old school because all the colors were orange and brown, like in the 70’s. Waiting beside me were a couple of other guys each holding some kind of drum. One was a snare drum, like the ones used in a marching band, the other was bigger. I don’t know much about drums. These two were part of my “team”. They were Jonah Hill types, somewhere between big Jonah and now Jonah. (Roomie told me just before I went to bed that he saw 21 Jump Street last night.) Also in line were other people holding instruments.

Finally we were admitted into the gym where the organizers told us to sit on the floor to wait. Turns out we were auditioning to perform at my friend’s sister’s funeral. So we sat there quietly practicing.

The details of both dreams are not that accurate. I really should write it down as soon as I wake or record bits on a voice recorder but I sleep with someone. I do not want him to know exactly what I am dreaming about unless I volunteer the information. Nor do I want him to know that I am actively trying so hard to dream.

When I told him I was trying to lucid dream a few weeks ago in a moment when I was trying to share (perhaps testing myself and him a bit), the conversation just turned around on him and how he has lucid dreams sometimes. No questions about why I am doing it at all…I’ve even talked about my efforts since then, briefly, in passing. Nothing…

Leave a Reply

