A New House and Playing Hooky

Dream 05.09.12
I was living in a house with husband and roommate in the same arrangement we have now except we were in a different house. It was more modern in design and the spaces within were “lofty”.

Anyway the order of all this could be jumbled. I followed a female friend and her bf who had come by the house to the mall. He apparently had stuff to buy. After we had already walked about for a while, he led us into a sports clothing store and headed straight to the counter. I was just browsing around and saw a pair of slouchy pink thigh high boots with a low heel. I picked it up and contemplated how it would go with this pink Roxy tank I bought while in Florida. With a pair of denim cut-off shorts, it would look hot.

I set the boots back down on the shelf and I overheard some girl scoffing at me for even considering such a buy. I was mildly irked but whatever. Then I went up to the counter to see what the bf was buying and it was some small electronic thing. My reaction to finding out was definitely one of disapproval. I felt like we walked around forever and THIS was what we really came for? Anyways, I walked out of the store and didn’t wait for him to finish his transaction.

Back at the house: I just got home. Then roommate and husband just returned from some all-nighter party or mission. Roommate looked like shit. I never saw husband’s face in the dream by the way, he was just around. Anyways, they were supposed to go out again and I went into the garage, which had tall ceilings. It had rained earlier that day and water was dripping through the garage roof. I had put a large notebook sized piece of electronic equipment (some computer peripheral card) into a garbage bag for protection and husband or roommate was supposed to get it on their own to return/exchange. When I went to get it in the garage for them, there was water pooled on the plastic bag. I was annoyed that they never picked it up earlier thankful that I had the foresight to put it in a bag. I gave it to them and they were off.

Then for much of the dream, I was skipping work because I was partly sick and mostly just did not want to go. It was already 1pm in the afternoon and I still hadn’t called in to let anyone know. I felt bad and irresponsible but kept delaying the call because I just didn’t even want to talk to anyone there or have anything to do with work. Then it was 3pm, and still more time passes. I don’t know if I ever ended up calling.

I don’t remember much more. I think while I was skipping work, there were a few friends hanging out with me.

I was really tired last night and fell asleep fully dressed, no shower or brushing my teeth at 10pm. I woke up a bit a few times, thought maybe I would go clean myself up then crawl back into bed but always decided against it. When I actually woke up this morning, I felt rested but not enough but I was already singing Garbage’s You Look So Fine in my head.

I never really know the lyrics to songs but I listened to the Version 2.0 album so many times in my youth, I’m sure the lyrics were in my head. Here they are:

“You Look So Fine”

You look so fine

I want to break your heart
And give you mine
You’re taking me over

It’s so insane
You’ve got me tethered and chained
I hear your name
And I’m falling over

I’m not like all the other girls
I can’t take it like the other girls
I won’t share it like the other girls
That you used to know

You look so fine

Knocked down
Cried out
Been down just to find out
I’m through
Bleeding for you

I’m open wide
I want to take you home
We’ll waste some time
You’re the only one for me

You look so fine
I’m like the desert tonight
Leave her behind
If you want to show me

I’m not like all the other girls
I won’t take it like the other girls
I won’t fake it like the other girls
That you used to know

You’re taking me over
Over and over
I’m falling over
Over and over

You’re taking me over
Drown in me one more time
Hide inside me tonight
Do what you want to do
Just pretend happy end
Let me know let it show

Ending with letting go

Let’s pretend, happy end

Leave a Reply

