Starting A Lovely Trip

Dreams 06.28.12

There were 2 parts to my dream. I remember the last part pretty well but the first part, I even tried to lie there just to remember it, twice. But as soon as I got up it was gone. Anyways, here’s the second part:

I was on a bus with 3 other coworkers: AG, LR and LS. We were all going out of town for some work event or function. The bus was modern and it reminded me of the airport shuttles in HK. I sat behind LR, who is usually quite shy and quiet. Then AG who was sitting further back with LS came up to sit beside me and we chatted for a bit. It was nothing special but it was friendly.

The bus dropped us off in this outdoor market place. We went to a small restaurant and sat at their one table outside, basically in an alleyway. It was actually a really nice day and a pleasant despite the seemingly shabby surroundings. It had a certain localized, ethnic charm to it. That’s the only way I could describe it. Then we all felt a few drops of water falling on our heads. We looked up and it wasn’t raining so we figured it was dripping from something overhanging out the windows above.

LR has warmed up very much at this point in the trip. She excitedly digs through her purse and brings out a flimsy looking umbrella that looked like it was made of an enormous banana leaf. I don’t know if banana leaf is the right thing, just something tropical. The texture was waxy, very green and still sort of transluscent. When she “tossed” it up, like one would a blanket or table cloth to spread out this “umbrella” (yes the action makes no sense with the thing that it is) it opened up and it’s uneven edges was just enough to cover our heads. Actually it barely covered LS but at least it covered our table. We all giggled and laughed. It was like have a private little green canopy to enjoy our meal under, away from the elements of the alley and it gave a nice bit of shade from the sun.

Afterwards we were at the airport. We all lined up at separate ticket counters to get checked in. When I arrived at my line I looked around and couldn’t see any of the others. I had a mild panic wondering if I was late. Then I saw AG and further down LR so I calmed.

When I walked through the door towards the gate/customs area, it’s like we instantly teleported to the destination city. There was no flash as one might expect from a sci-fi movie. It was simply that I walked through one door here, walked out another door there and some time had passed. It was just a common place thing where on one side you knew the time and place, and on the otherwise both of those variables were simply different. LS walked up to me and asked me how my “flight” was, it looked like she had passed over earlier than us and had been waiting for some time.

I said it was fine just that waiting in line was a bit of a chore because the people in front of me were slow. They weren’t really. It’s just one of those things people complain about the airport or train station when there is nothing else to say. Then LS tells me they screwed up with her luggage as well as with AG’s. It was merely gone, lost, no explanation. So AG was at a counter sorting all that out so we should go over to meet him.

Leave a Reply

