Left Behind on a Bank of Muddy Waters

Dreams 10.20.12
I was about to go on work/personal trip to HK, planning it last minute because the deciding factors for the trip had only just stabilized. I knew that 6 other friends were going to the same destination but all in hotels in different parts of town. They all had arrangements of 2 and 2.

I knew one pair was jr and df. I mulled over which of the groups to call and ultimately knew it would be them because I’d feel most comfortable and less imposing. The others were a bunch of girls, who are nice but well, I have a hard time being comfortable around most women. When I called, I called jr’s number and hesitantly left a voicemail to ask if I could sleep on the floor or have a room in the apartment they were going to stay at.

Then I was at the destination which wasn’t like HK at all. It was very jungle-like and tropical. I was at the edge of a rushing river where the road just ended suddenly. I was stuck, unable to cross and I could see my friends floating off in their car/hover boat. I was left behind and stood on my own. The wind was blowing really strong through the trees on both sides of the river. The rushing river was a muddy brown.

Then I was at work in md’s office. It was a small room that was perfectly cube shaped. Her desk faced the door, so wide there was only maybe 2 feet on each side before the wall. The side of the cubic room behind the desk was one big solid sheet of glass window that looked out to the cityscape. It must’ve been just past dusk, the sky was a dark grey/blue. Seeing the building out there, the skyscraper, including the one we were in, must’ve been really tall. We were very high, at least about 30 floors up.

She calls a client on speaker phone while I had my notebook in front of me, read to take notes. She tells the client that it was awkward to have this conversation, to which the client agreed. I casually got up and closed the door and just sat back down taking notes, head down. Md sings praises about me for closing door, that they should feel more assured now the conversation was more private. She gave me an assuring and grateful smile and I returned the sentiment with a smile of my own.

Leave a Reply

