The Treadmill Bubble and Cocky Boarder

Dreams 11.07.12
It was a rainy, wet day and I was driving along a road. It wasn’t quite in the city but definitely not in the countryside either. I suppose it was more of a suburban street.
There was a bend in the road up ahead that led into a round tunnel, under a bridge. The cars in front of me were a little backed up. Many began to signal to get into the fast lane. There must be some obstruction ahead, I thought to myself.

As I approached the “obstruction” it was a slow moving, clear bubble of some sort. There was a thick metal/machinery band around the middle and there was something, rotating and tilting upright on the inside. As I was just coming up behind the bubble, the tilting inside it had finally gotten to a position where I could recognize its form. There was a blond ponytailed woman running on a treadmill inside. The metal machinery on the outside of the bubble was a way for her to transfer the energy from the treadmill to cause the outside bubble to roll.

I understood right away. It’s a new kind of transportation, one that I had not seen with my own eyes so I felt a sense of novelty as I passed her. Since she was going so slow, she seems to be apologetic to all the passing cars.

Then I was at the water’s edge, near a “dock” area where there was a hill, retained by a concrete wall with 3 sides, each sides’ top edge sloping down to the next wall until it reached the water’s surface. I was at the top of this hill with a gathering of about 50 other people, all focusing our attentions on the doc wall with 3 sides, looking down.

Then there appeared an athlete in a speedo, swim cap near the top of the hill. He had what looked like a snowboard (but I knew it wasn’t) in one arm. He looked over at the crowd (who cheered) waved (the crowd cheered more) then looked down at the 3 walls, sizing it up. Then he laid down his board on the top edge, had one foot to keep it in place, took a breath then jumped on. The momento of the small push he gave himself propelled him dow one side of the wall. Then he rounded one corner and the board flew off to one side. He slipped off to one side as well and instead of allowing himself to fall into the water, he grabbed on to the retaining wall, fingers only so he was dangling. He used all his strength to pull himself up with his fingers, then arms. It was painful to see him struggle and nobody helped him and awkward to watch him climb up, one leg thrown over the edge at a time while in his swim cap and speedo.

Then another boarder arrived walking up the hill, past the previous one still struggling to get back on land. The crowd cheered. The new boarder did not take notice of the previous guy at all. He confidently walked to the top of the hill. Then I saw a mini montage of this guy in a snowboard/skater stye video, backlit against a snow covered hill, sun and blue sky behind him. He jumped in the air doing some trick, then he was just speeding down the hill, white powder behind him. Anyway it was a short little montage.

Then I’m pretty sure it happened, he very easily, swiftly, without making a fuss, stepped on the board, whooshed down and went kerplunk into the water. It was so fast I’m not even really sure it happened. Then there was a whole other part to the dream but I’ve forgotten it all.

Leave a Reply

